DGC community! As time allows, I’m going to start sharing general cannabis-related legal content with you kindred spirits to contribute to the wealth of DGC knowledge. I’ll start by focusing on prohibition states since those are the most legally dangerous. Hit me up with what states you’d like to know about and I’ll focus first on the states. If it helps one person, it’s completely worth it.
Medical is legal for very few conditions which now include multiple sclerosis, Parkinson’s disease, ALS, terminal cancer, autism, and some seizure disorders. Medicinal cannabis may only contain low levels of THC.
Home grow is treated like possession of flower except the aggregate weight of the plant is used to calculate the offense, so keep your plants defoliated!
2 ounces or less of “Marihuana” is a misdemeanor (spelling with the “J” is too Latino for Texas lawmakers), up to 180 days jail and a fine up to $2,000.
2 to 4 ounces is a misdemeanor, up to 1-year jail and a fine up to $4,000.
4 ounces to 5 pounds (lawmakers apparently got bored) is a felony with a mandatory minimum of 180 days jail and a fine up to $10,000.
Cedar Park and Dallas issue tickets for possession of small amounts, as do Bexar (San Antonio), Harris (Houston), Hays (San Marcos), Nueces (Corpus Christi), Travis (Austin) and Williamson (Georgetown) Counties. Local laws don’t trump state laws, so be cool to the cops so they apply state laws to the one-hitter in your pocket.
I know from experience that 5th street in downtown Austin reeks of some serious terpenes but the cops don’t look twice. They are too busy breaking up drunk college student fights to care I suppose.
Cannabis is NOT LEGAL for recreational use. Copious amounts of booze is the preferred intoxicant in the Mardi Gras state. Louisiana is the 9th worst state for DUI death rates, so the state could benefit from a safer vise like cannabis.
Cannabis is legal for very limited medical conditions. You’ll need conditions much worse than arthritis, but it has been expanded recently to include PTSD, glaucoma, severe muscle spasms, intractable pain, Parkinson’s disease and, surprisingly, autism. Burning flower is still banned. The only medical forms allowed are medicinal oils, pills, liquids, topical applications and inhalers.
Home grow is a big NO-NO! Popping a seed will get you a mandatory 5-year minimum sentence plus major fines.
1st Offense less than 14 grams is a fine of up to $300 and/or up to 15 days of imprisonment.
1st Offense 14 grams to 2 ½ pounds is a fine of up to $500 and/or up to 6 months of imprisonment.
2nd Offense less than 2 ½ pounds is a fine of $1,000 and/or up to 6 months of imprisonment.
3rd Offense less than 2 ½ pounds is a fine of up to $2,500 and/or up to 2 years of imprisonment.
* There is a one-time, two-year cleansing period for first time convictions.
In New Orleans and Baton Rouge, you’ll only get a $40 to $100 ticket if the officer cites you for possession under local law. However, the officer can choose to use state law and arrest you instead. ALWAYS BE NICE TO THE COPS!
Cops in downtown New Orleans don’t flinch until shots are fired so you’re probably safe if you’re discreet.
If anyone in the DGC has specific information or experience on how cannabis is treated in any state, let me know and I’ll compile the info for sharing (i.e., is the free market strong, does law enforcement choose not to enforce the laws, local attitudes on decriminalization, etc.).
*DISCLAIMER* – This is NOT LEGAL ADVICE. It’s general info on laws anyone can look up. Laws are always changing. If it’s illegal, don’t do it. If you’re going to try something that might get you in trouble, pay a local lawyer to help you out. Even lawyers gotta eat.